Paid Sick Time starts for township workers.
This past November, one bill that passed in Montclair as well as Trenton now gives some workers access to paid sick days, going into effect on Wednesday, March 4. According to a report by New Jersey Working Families, “eight N.J. cities have now passed local earned sick time laws in a little over a year, driving momentum for a statewide bill that will cover 1.2 million workers.” The addition of the bills passing in this election will give an additional 20,000 New Jerseyans paid sick time. This bill is modeled after a similar law that passed in Newark this past summer, which will now allow private-sector workers to earn one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked.
Montclair’s Paid Sick Time ordinance will provide employees working in the township up to 40 hours of paid sick time. According to a report by Montclair, “Under Montclair’s Paid Sick Time law (also known as Earned Sick Days) employees who work for at least 80 hours in a calendar year in the township must be provided with paid sick time by their employers. The law excludes from this requirement individuals employed by the city, state or federal government; individuals employed by any New Jersey school district or Board of Education; and a limited number of union members.”
The amount of paid sick time and rate of accrual is: employers with 10 or more employees must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave over a calendar year; employers with fewer than 10 employees must provide up to 24 hours of paid sick leave over a calendar year; and child care workers, home health care workers and food service workers may accrue up to 40 hours of paid sick leave over a calendar year regardless of the number of people employed by their employer.
According to the report, starting March 4, 2015, the aforementioned employees accrue at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Those who working for their employer for more than 80 calendar days can begin using paid sick time as it is accrued. Otherwise, they can begin using paid sick time 80 calendar days after their employment begins. Workers who believe their employers are in violation of the ordinance may file a complaint with the Montclair Department of Health and Human Services or with the Municipal Court.
For more information on Montclair’s Paid Sick Leave Ordinance, visit the Paid Sick Time Ordinance Information page on the Montclair Township website.
You must be logged in to post a comment Login